52 Former Hawks Start Spring in Big League Camp

As the Cactus League and Grapefruit Leagues began in earnest today (Cubs lost a 12-10 decision to Oakland – with Welington Castillo hitting a home run), a bevy of former Boise Hawks are currently in Big League camp – trying to make the 25-man rosters that will break for the opening of the 2012 season.

In all, 34 former Hawks are currently on the 40-man rosters of a Major League club, while 18 other former Hawks are in Big League camp as Non Roster Invitees – encompassing 20 of the 30 MLB teams.

Players on the 40-man roster that are with new teams include Chris Carpenter with the Red Sox (compensation for Theo Epstein), Andrew Cashner with the Padres (part of the Anthony Rizzo deal), Tyler Colvin with the Rockies (trade for Ian Stewart), and Sean Marshall in Cincinnati (trade for Travis Wood), while Ryan Flaherty (Orioles) and Marwin Gonzalez (Astros) were grabbed in the Rule 5 Draft.

Others who have signed as free agents include Donnie Veal (White Sox), Ronny Cedeno (Mets), and Dontrelle Willis (Phillies).

Former Hawks on 40-Man Rosters:  Joel Peralta (’00), Robinson Chirinos (’02), Brandon Guyer (’07) – Tampa Bay; Ryan Flaherty (’08) – Baltimore; John Lackey (’97), Rich Hill (‘02/’03), Chris Carpenter (’08) – Boston; Donnie Veal (’05) – Chicago (AL); Al Alburquerque (’06) – Detroit; Russ Canzler (’06) – Cleveland; Jerry Blevins (’04), Josh Donaldson (’07) – Oakland; Andrew Cashner (’08), Erik Hamren (’08) – San Diego; Tyler Colvin (’06) – Colorado; Marwin Gonzalez (’08) – Houston; Francisco Rodriguez (’99) – Milwaukee; Sean Marshall (’03) – Cincinnati; Josh Harrison (’08) – Pittsburgh; Ronny Cedeno (’02) – New York (NL); Dontrelle Willis (’01) – Philadelphia; Jose Ceda (’07), Ricky Nolasco (’02) – Miami; Jeff Beliveau (’08), Alberto Cabrera (’07), Casey Coleman (’08), Jeff Samardzija (’06), Randy Wells (’02), Welington Castillo (’06), Steve Clevenger (‘06/’07), Geovany Soto (’02), Josh Vitters (‘07/’08), Tony Campana (’08), Matt Szczur (’10) – Chicago (NL).

Former Hawks in Camp as Non-Roster Invitees: Lou Montanez (’04) – Philadephia; Ramon Ortiz (’95) – San Francisco; Angel Guzman (’01) – Los Angeles (NL); Felix Pie (’02) – Cleveland, Darin Downs (‘04/’05/’06) – Detroit, Clay Rapada (‘02/’03) – New York (AL); Hak-Ju Lee (’09) – Tampa Bay; Jay Jackson (’08), Trey McNutt (’09), Blake Parker (’07), Dae-Eun Rhee (’10), Chris Rusin (’09), Michael Brenly (’08), Blake Lalli (’07), Alfredo Amazega (’99), Jonathan Mota (’05), Jae Hoon Ha (’09), Brett Jackson (’09) – Chicago (NL).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

High Heels {and} Highlights

from a woman in BASEBALL . . .

The Cougars Den

Major League fun since 1991. The official blog of the Kane County Cougars.

Muskat Ramblings

MLB.com's Carrie Muskat has been covering Major League Baseball since 1981 and is the author of "Banks to Sandberg to Grace: Five Decades of Love and Frustration with the Cubs." You can follow her on Twitter @CarrieMuskat. Here, she blogs about the Cubs.

Ben's Biz Blog

The Greatest Minor League Baseball Blog of All Time

%d bloggers like this: